Taking your own advice is the hardest pill to swallow…

Stepping away from my Secret journey for a moment, I went to a friends for dinner the other night. It was a well overdue catch up. We spoke about the past, our friends, family and relationships. By the end of the night, we had shed tears of both laughter and sadness, and it dawned on me that I was reciting “Dear Abby” replies to her problems.

Giving advice to others comes as second nature to me, but I can’t seem to take my own advice or make my own decisions. Instead, I would convince myself that my situation is far more complicated than others and the advice I would give would become null and void. Don’t get me wrong, I’ll happily take advice from someone else, I’m not that stubborn. I just struggle to digest my own words of wisdom…

Why do we turn to others for advice? We are more than willing to dish it out to others with conviction, sometimes without even being asked to. So why do we neglect to listen to our own advice in the first place?

Because we want affirmation that we are making the right decision. The majority of the time, we already know that we should be taking our own advice, we just need the encouragement from someone else.

Because it’s easier. If someone gives you advice, they are in essence telling you what to do, you don’t have to think. If anything goes wrong with the decision made from listening to them, the blame goes to the person that gave you the wrong advice.

The problem with these reasonings are that others rarely have any stake in the outcome of you taking their advice. Also, it is likely they have only heard your side of the story, making their opinions less valid than your own point of view. After all, who knows you better than you?

Of course, it’s good to hear advice from someone outside of the situation, they may be able to offer a different perspective. However, at the end of the day, it is you that has to live with the outcomes your own decisions.

You know what’s best for you. Just trust in yourself, take control and be a confident, courageous person in doing so.

All children must look after their own upbringing. Parents can only give good advice or put them on the right paths, but the final forming of a person’s character lies in their own hands ~ Anne Frank

[Photo source: http://favim.com/image/217659/%5D

Leave a Reply

